YouTube is a great platform to share your videos with the world. However, it is also a great way of sharing videos with friends, for their eyes only. Some people only want to share their YouTube videos with some people or might even want them completely private for nobody but them to see. No matter how much privacy you want, YouTube makes it easy to change the privacy setting on a video you already uploaded video, as well as prevent a video from going public even before you upload it. Here’s how to protect your privacy as much as possible when using the popular video site. Instructions are here for using YouTube on the web and via a mobile app.

Also Read: How to Add Subtitles to YouTube Videos

During uploading change the video privacy settings:

If you haven’t uploaded your video or you’re in the process or about to start the process, follow these first steps to make sure that it isn’t shown to the public.

  • Sign in to your YouTube account and navigate to your YouTube Studio.
  • Select Upload Video and choose the video you want to upload to your YouTube account.
  • Enter details about the video such as the title and description and select Next.
  • On the Visibility screen, select one of the following options to make the video private:
  • Unlisted: Keep your video public but do not allow people to search for it. This allow you easily share the URL with anyone you want but prevents people from finding it through search engine.
  • Private: Does not let the public see the video. Only you can see it, and only when you’re logged in under the same account that uploaded the video. This option makes YouTube work more like a video backup service rather than a sharing service.
  • Select save button.

Change YouTube Video Privacy on Existing Videos

Your other option is to make your existing videos private. This will help you to pull your video out of the public eye and make it obey one of the options mentioned above.

  • Sign in to your YouTube account and navigate to your YouTube Studio.
  • Select Videos in the left pane under Your Channel.
  • which video you’d like to update and select the arrow under Visibility.
  • To apply the same privacy setting to all of your videos, choose the Select All checkbox in the upper-left corner of the video list. Alternatively, select the checkboxes next to the videos to which you want to apply the same privacy setting.
  • From the drop-down menu, choose one of the following options to make the video private:
  • Unlisted: Keep your video public but do not allow people to search for it. This allows you easily share the URL with anyone you want but prevents people from finding it through search results.
  • Private: Does not allow the public see the video. Only you can see it, and only when you’re logged in under the same account that uploaded the video. This option makes YouTube work more like a video backup service rather than a sharing service.
  • Select Save.

If you want privacy and you’re in the process or about to start the process, follow these first steps to make sure that it isn’t shown to the public.

Private, Unlisted, and Public videos all have different features. Compare these characteristics to determine which setting is best for your needs.

FeaturePrivateUnlistedPublic
Can share URL to viewNoYesYes
Can add to a channel sectionNoYesYes
Can appear in Search, Related Videos, or SuggestionsNoNoYes
Is posted on the channelNoNoYes
Appears in the subscriber feedNoNoYes
Can be commented onNoYesYes

How to make a YouTube video private on the mobile app

Just like on your computer, you can use the YouTube mobile app to make a video private when you upload it, or under processing. Here’s how to do it when you are publishing the video:

Also Read: How to Live Stream on YouTube

 Start the YouTube app and tap the Upload Video icon at the top of the screen (it looks like a camera).

  • Choose a video from your mobile and then tap “Next.”
  • On the Add details page, tap “Public.”
  • In the pop-up window, choose “Private – Only you can view.”

How to change a published YouTube video privacy on the mobile app:

If the video is already published, here is how to change its visibility to private:

Start the YouTube app and tap “Library” in the bottom right corner of the screen. 

  • Select “My videos.”
  • Find the video you want to change and then tap the three dots at the right side of the screen. In the pop-up screen, tap “Edit.”
  • On the Edit details page, find the Privacy section. It should say either “Public” or “Unlisted.” Tap it.
  • In the pop-up window, select “Private – Only you can view.”
  • Select the save button,

 

Share.

Leave A Reply