Prevent certain accounts from commenting on your videos

What to Know

  • Desktop: Go to a Channel’s About page Flag icon > Block User Block Submit.
  • App: Tap the three-dot menu icon > Block user Block.
  • Blocking a YouTube account will remove their videos from your feed and prevent them from commenting on your videos.

This article covers the process for how to block specific YouTube channels on desktop and mobile. Blocking a YouTube channel removes their videos from your feed and prevents that account from commenting on your uploads and sending you communications.

Also Read: How to Set up a YouTube Premium Family

How to Block a YouTube Channel on Desktop

The block option has moved around quite a bit on the YouTube website over the years, so it’s understandable if you can’t find it. Here’s how to find the YouTube block button and put it to good use.

  1. Open your preferred web browser and navigate to the YouTube channel page you want to block.

Important: Make sure you’re on the correct channel as you don’t want to block the wrong account accidentally.


  • Click About.
  • Click the flag icon under the channel stats.

  • Click Block user.
  • Click Submit.

How to Block a YouTube Channel on Mobile

Can you block YouTube channels on iOS and Android smartphones and tablets? Absolutely. Here’s how.

  1. Open the official YouTube app on your iPhone or Android smartphone or tablet and go to the YouTube account you have your eyes on.

Tip: You can quickly do this by tapping on the circle profile picture of an account near one of their videos.

  • Tap the ellipsis (three vertical dots) in the top-right corner.
  • Tap Block user.
  • A confirmation message will pop up—tap Block.

How to Block Videos on YouTube

If you’re tired of seeing the same account’s videos suggested to you in your feed while browsing YouTube, you can take several practical actions by tapping on the ellipsis next to its title on both mobile and the web.

A menu will appear with a variety of options. Here are the three you may want to consider using to block this video, and others like it, from your YouTube experience.

  • Not interested. This option will tell YouTube to stop recommending this video and others like it. If you choose this on a video about tomatoes, YouTube will show you fewer videos about tomatoes regardless of the channel.
  • Don’t recommend the channel. Selecting this option will inform YouTube to cease showing you videos of any topic from this particular YouTube channel. This option can be helpful if you like to get news on a specific topic from many sources and want to exclude particular accounts.
  • Report. If you find a YouTube video is offensive, dangerous, or misleading, you can choose this option to let YouTube know. Reporting it should stop this video from being shown to you and will also let YouTube know they should investigate it and potentially remove it from the platform entirely.

In addition to the above three options, you may also want to try the following for blocking videos from your YouTube experience.

  • Try YouTube Kids. YouTube Kids is an entirely free app designed for young viewers. It automatically filters out mature content and recommends media intended for children to watch without a parent’s supervision. It can still be worth checking the YouTube viewing history, though, just in case some questionable clips are slipping through the algorithm.

Also Read: Which Tips Needed to Keep YouTube Videos Private

  • Stay on your Subscription feed. Your subscription feed will only show you videos from your subscribed accounts. YouTube can often trick you into using the Home feed but be careful as the Home feed is not your Subscription feed.
Share.

Leave A Reply