What is PMS Exam in Pakistan

It stands for Provincial Management Service. It is a competitive exam conducted by the Provincial governments of Pakistan through its Commissions. The commissions are  Punjab Public Service Commission (PPSC), Sindh Public Service Commission (SPSC), Baluchistan Public Service Commission (BPSC), Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Public Service Commission (KPSC), Azad Jammu & Kashmir Public Service Commission (AJKPSC). Candidates have to clear PMS Test including Psychology Test, Written Test, and interview. The candidates are offered government jobs as First Class Officer (Grade 17) who passes these PMS Tests. An officer who passed the PMS test is called PMS Officer.

PMS Introduction

It is one of the government services. The Provincial Management Service – PMS came into existence on January 17, 2014, in Punjab upon notification by the S&GAD, Government of the Punjab – Pakistan. It was established by the provincial governments in Pakistan to improve the service structure of bureaucracy in the provinces. In Punjab, the Provincial Management Service Officers have been given a considerable share in posts. Through competitive exam conducted by Public Service Commission at the provincial level, government officers appointed directly in Grade – 17. 17th scale officers get promotion in Scale – 18, Scale – 19, and Scale – 20 as per notified PMS Rules. PMS Officers are posted as Assistant Commissioner, Deputy Secretary, Section Officer, Magistrate, DCO, Commissioner, Additional Secretary, DG, or any other equivalent post of their grade. In the top-level bureaucracy of the province, PMS Officers are an important unit. These Officers perform their duties at Tehsil, District, Division, and Provincial level at important posts.

Difference between PCS and PMS

PCS stands for Provincial Civil Service and PMS stands for Provincial Management Service. Both are the same. PCS service has been combined into PMS service. PCS officers were appointed like PMS officers through the competitive exams by the Public Service Commission. For PMS Officers, the number of posts has also been increased.

Qualification Requirements for PMS Exam

  1. All-female, males, and transgender, domiciled in Punjab can apply for PMS Exam in PPSC.
  2. Graduation in any discipline with minimum Second Division from a recognized university.
  3. Already job holders and Fresh graduates in the private and public sectors are eligible.

PMS Age Limit

The age limit for PMS is 21 to 30 years. In the following cases, age relaxation is allowed:

  1. Maximum 10 years relaxation in upper age limit for special persons shall be allowed as per Punjab Civil Servants Recruitment Rules, 1976.
  2. In case of officials serving in connection with the affairs of the Federal Government who are domiciled in Punjab as well as the officials serving in connection with the affairs of the Punjab Government having at least 4 years service as such, the upper age limit shall be 35 years.

As per the Government of the Punjab, S&GAD Notification, Relaxation of Age Rules shall not apply to the posts of the Government needed to be filled through CCE (Combined Competitive Examination) conducted by the PPSC.

The candidate must fulfill and complete all other qualifications/ preconditions for the examination on or before the closing date as given in this advertisement. The original certificates will be produced by the candidates at the time of Psychological Assessment and Interview to authenticate their claim in the application form.

PMS Jobs

When PMS posts are available in the Punjab Province, the PPSC holds this exam. PMS exam is being taken on more or less three years basis since its inception.

PMS Exam Criteria

PMS Exam is a combination of Interview/Viva Voce (comprising of 200 marks) and written test (comprising of 1200 marks). The criteria of PMS is as follows:

  1. Deducting 0.25 marks, negative marking is done for each wrong answer in the Objective (MCQ) paper of General Knowledge.
  2. Non-Muslims candidates have the option to attempt paper in Ethics or Islamic Studies.
  3. From PMS Syllabus defined by the PPSC, the candidates have to take compulsory as well as optional subjects.

Important Information About PMS Exam

  1. For the question paper, the minimum standard is graduate level.
  2. The Candidate has to obtain 50% marks in the aggregate and 40% marks in each paper i.e. 600 marks to qualify for an interview. To be held eligible for the final merit list of successful candidates, a candidate has to secure 50% marks in the interview.
  3. Special zone, Special person, and Minority quotas are considered except the Open Merit quota.
  4. The examination is held at Rawalpindi, Bahawalpur, Lahore, Multan, Faisalabad, DG Khan, and Sargodha districts

Job Description of PMS Officer

Newly appointed PMS Officer undergoes mandatory training at MPDD (Management & Professional Development Department), Lahore for a period of six months. After this training, a PMS Officer may be assigned the following jobs/ postings:

  1. For a period of 3 months, posting as Assistant Commissioner. This posting tells an officer how is the working of Assistant Commissioner in Tehsil.
  2. To work first 2 years of his/her service in Civil Secretariat is required for the newly appointed PMS Officer. Different types of posts in the Civil Secretariat await the newly appointed PMS Officer. The officer may be posted as:
  • Section Officer Establishment
  • Section Officer Budget
  • Section Officer Litigation
  • Section Officer General
  • Section Officer Technical
  • Section Officer Inquiries
  • Section Officer Planning
  1. For a newly appointed PMS Officer, Field Postings are as under:
  • Special Judicial Magistrate
  • District Monitoring Officer
  • Deputy Director Anti-Corruption
  • Assistant Commissioner
  • Sub-Registrar

PMS Officers Salary

The PMS Officers get a salary of Basic Scale-17 after appointment along with financial benefits and allowances as admissible to Government employees. PMS Officers are posted as Section Officers mostly at the beginning of their job. The salary of a PMS Officer can be estimated as follow:

Basic Pay (Minimum)30,370.00
Special Allowance 20% (2009)2,118.00
Adhoc Relief Allowance 2016 10%2,544.00
Adhoc Relief Allowance 2017 10%3,037.00
Adhoc Relief Allowance 2018 10%3,037.00
Adhoc Allowance 2019 5%1,518.50
Civil Secretariat Allowance @50%15,185.00
Convey Allowance 20055,000.00
Medical Allowance 15% (16-22)2,396.00
House Rent 45% (2008) (big city)4,432.50
Gross Salary of PMS Officer(Approximate) Rs.69,638

General Information

Candidates are ineligible to apply for the PMS Exam in Punjab Province who have the domicile of AJK, Baluchistan, KPK, and Sindh, and vice versa. For PMS Exam/ Jobs, they can apply in their province respectively.


Comments are closed.